What Size Should Layers Be For A 3 Tier Square Cake?

Decorating By Jan1956 Updated 21 Aug 2011 , 4:22am by Jan1956

Jan1956 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jan1956 Posted 20 Aug 2011 , 2:46am
post #1 of 7

At my Nieces request princess.gif I am making her wedding cake this next month. She wants a THREE TIER SQUARE CAKE WITH ROSES BETWEEN THE LAYERS, not too big, but also not too small. In addition to the wedding cake she requests enough sheet cakes to server 250 guests. Im not very experienced, so Im asking for help.

I really need some help with the wedding cake. I will be using Polystyrene Square Separators between the layers to place silk roses, and possibly another one under the base with more roses. I want it to look balanced, not too overdone. My biggest problem is I have a tendency to go overboard and overdo. (Remember Jan-more is not better!) icon_rolleyes.gif I get so carried away! Please help!

I have round pans but its a square cake she wants, so before I go shopping I need to know what size cake pans I should purchase.

The number it will serve is not an issue.

Question: What size cake pans should I use?

Should they have a difference of One inch in size?
Or
Two inches:  
16 x 14 x 12
15 x 13 x 11
14 x 12 x 10
Three inches:  
16 x 13 x 10
15 x 12 x 9
14 x 11 x 8
Four inches:  
16 x 12 x 8
15 x 11 x 7
14 x 10 x 6
Or different varying inches?  

Depth of pans:  
2 deep?
3 deep?

What should the separators between the layers measure? I plan on using 2 Polystyrene Square Separators four inches smaller than the tier above to place the silk roses. I could use 3" separators if necessary. Or whats best.

For better eye appeal should the rose placement on the three layers be an odd number (3) or even (4)?

There are two initials for placement on the top layer. Should roses be placed with the initials on the top tier?

Also if roses are placed underneath the bottom layer should roses be placed on the top tier with the initials or not?