Beginner

Decorating By brritbratt21 Updated 24 Aug 2011 , 10:28am by brritbratt21

brritbratt21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brritbratt21 Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 9:38pm
post #1 of 16

I have done small birthday cakes and such all my life, but recently I have been wanting to get into 3 tier cakes using fondant and get away from all the pre made icing and making a cake with "store" stuff. I'm wanting to try something detailed with fondant, but as a beginner I have no clue where to start at or what kind of design would be easy for me to try. I wanted to see if anyone had any beginner ideas and tips to help me get started. Any suggestiong would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

15 replies
aztomcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aztomcat Posted 19 Aug 2011 , 7:06am
post #2 of 16

Well it all starts with learning to cover a two layer cake with fondant. I started that way. You will need to make homemade buttercream icing, ice the cake smooth. And then make marshmallow fondant, and place over the cake and smooth it and trim it. Once you do well with one cake, you cover 2 - 3 cakes and stack them. For practice you might want to try Fondant ribbon roses and a colored fondant ribbon along the bottom of your cake.

All the recipes and examples of pictures can be found by searching recipes and galleries.

Good luck and post your pictures.

Dee in AZ

knlcox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knlcox Posted 19 Aug 2011 , 10:24am
post #3 of 16