Good Idea To Send New Customer Coupon Off Next Order?

Business By CupcakeQT82 Updated 27 Aug 2011 , 5:46pm by ajwonka

CupcakeQT82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CupcakeQT82 Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 6:08pm
post #1 of 12

I'm new in the business, and I was wondering if to built my clientele and return customers, if it would be a good idea to use a coupon. I have a wedding this weekend for 100 cupcakes. To show my appreciation I was thinking of mailing them a coupon for 20% off their next order whether cupcake or cake. Is this a good idea or could it somehow backfire on me? This would of course be a one-time use. TIA icon_smile.gificon_smile.gif

11 replies
JohnnyCakes1966 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JohnnyCakes1966 Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 6:31pm
post #2 of 12

I normally don't use coupons/give discounts for these reasons:

1. If you're giving a discount to someone who is already buying from you, you aren't gaining new customers...you're just charging your current customers less.
2. Discounts basically tell customers that your regular price is more than it needs to be.
3. Why give money away if you don't have to?

The only time I even consider giving a discount is for very large orders....very large! Or, of course, if I make a mistake and give a refund, but that really isn't a "discount."

Anyway, if you want to offer 20% off, make sure you have a 20% cushion built into your regular price so that you are still making money on the order.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 6:45pm
post #3 of 12

Discounts and coupons should not be necessary unless you are trying to compete on price. If you need more business, I would take that 20% discount you were going to hand over to the customer and spend it on advertising instead.

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 9:00pm
post #4 of 12