Travling Cake Disasters

Decorating By yummys Updated 29 Aug 2011 , 5:58am by SRumzis

yummys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummys Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 3:58pm
post #1 of 14

Having major problems when delivering cakesicon_sad.gif from Icing melting to tilting etc not sure what I can really do about it. I also bought a new suv so I could have a level back end to prevent this from happening but still ran in to this problemicon_sad.gif My major issue is the melting icing some one please help meicon_smile.gif

13 replies
bakerliz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakerliz Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 4:13pm
post #2 of 14

I don't deliver alot, but I have never had a problem, and I have delivered over 2 hours away on 2 separate occasions in the middle of summer. All I can offer is what I do to prevent melting. I start my car and keep it running until it's nice and cool. Then I jump in and circle the block until it's icy cold. Then I bring the cakes out and put them in as quickly as possible making sure that I leave the doors open as little as possible and the cakes are completely out of the sun (in case you can't tell, I live in an especially hot and humid climate...let's hear it for southern Texas!) After all of that, it's just slow and easy (for good measure, I also say a prayer every time I hit a bump icon_smile.gif)

SweetMelissa730 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetMelissa730 Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 4:23pm
post #3 of 14

I've never had a problem with cakes melting and I live in southern Louisiana... in other words, I live on the sun! Oh, and did I mention, my vehicle is black! When I come out of work, I drive home in an oven and when I pull into my driveway it finally cools down icon_confused.gif

Anyway... I just park my car in the shade and when I'm almost ready to go, leave the engine running until its nice and cold inside. When I drove my Mom's birthday cake an hour away on a 95 degree day, I felt like I was driving in a refrigerator. Cake made it just fine.