Dowels Or Sps? Dummy Tier?

Decorating By Claire138 Updated 15 Aug 2011 , 8:24pm by Claire138

Claire138 Posted 15 Aug 2011 , 7:18am
post #1 of 10

I am making a wedding cake for a friend & she wants 5 tiers (2 dummys). I've never worked with dummy tiers before so have a few questions for anyone in the know.
The bottom layer is going to be a dummy and the 4th too. Do I need to use dowel rods in them? Also, is there any different way to covering them with fondant (I use MMF) than a regular cake?
Should I use sps instead? I've never used sps before but I have read lots about it & would be willing to try but don't know if the first wedding cake I make should be the one I try it out on as I have no idea how to use them. For example, how come the pillars don't fall into the cake they are resting on? The look is amazing but I can't work out how to do it.
Another thing worrying me is the size of the dummy(s). The cakes will be 6 inch high each one (her demand) yet the dummy(s) I have found are only 3 inchs, should I buy 2 and stick and stack them on top of one another before covering in fondant?
Any or all answers to these questions are much appreciated!
icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
mvucic Posted 15 Aug 2011 , 8:01am
post #2 of 10

Hi there!

I've made two dummy cakes in the last several years. The last one I stacked 2 3" dummies to create 6" high tiers. All I did was use wood skewers to hold them together, greased up the dummies with shortening and covered them in fondant.