Why Is My Cream Cheese Frosting Sloppy?

Baking By zespri Updated 12 Aug 2011 , 12:43pm by matthewkyrankelly

zespri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zespri Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 2:12am
post #1 of 8

I made cream cheese frosting for the first time yesterday, and while I love the taste, I don't understand why it's so sloppy. When you see cuppies from people like Georgetown cupcakes, the icing looks firm and stable.

This is the recipe I used:
http://glorioustreats.blogspot.com/2010/02/cream-cheese-frosting-recipe.html

I used lite cream cheese... would that have caused it? I even added an extra 1.5 cups of icing sugar to try and stiffen it up. All that did was mask the cream cheese taste... boo hoo icon_sad.gif

There is a local shop to me who sell cream cheese frosted cupcakes, and theirs is piped into roses! How is it made this stiff?

7 replies
molly_36 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
molly_36 Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 2:44am
post #2 of 8

I'm no expert but I know when I've used light cream cheese in dips and other dishes, it is runnier than the regular cream cheese.
After reading your recipe, I also don't add any liquid other than vanilla favoring. Cream cheese, butter, vanilla and PS...that's it icon_wink.gif

BurnsyJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BurnsyJ Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 2:45am
post #3 of 8

I made cream cheese icing for the first time last week. I used Edna's recipe found here
http://www.designmeacake.com/cccbc.html

I usually use indydebi's buttercream, so Edna's cream cheese icing was not quite as stiff. I covered the red block in in Lego cake with it and later piped it onto some red velvet cupcakes.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 2:50am
post #4 of 8

Even full fat cream cheese is not stiff. I choose to keep it less stiff because I want the taste to come through. And I hate powdered sugar, but you need it for cream cheese.