Do I Board And Dowel A 3 Teir Wedding Cake?

Decorating By 596claire Updated 12 Aug 2011 , 3:10am by cakenovice2010

596claire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
596claire Posted 11 Aug 2011 , 1:56pm
post #1 of 16

hello all i have to make my first 3 tier wedding cake at the end of aug and im just wondering if i should board and dowel all 3 cakes or just dowel the cakes i do have to transport them to the venue on the morning of the wedding.

any addvice will be much appreciated
thanks claire icon_confused.gif

15 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 11 Aug 2011 , 2:10pm
post #2 of 16

You absolutely need boards under each tier. Dowels by themselves won't do anything.

FerrariGal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FerrariGal Posted 11 Aug 2011 , 2:15pm
post #3 of 16

I am by no means an expert... But you should always have a thin cake board under each tier. As for support, only dowel the bottom tiers since they will be supporting the tier above (unless of course you are using a heavier topper, then you need supports under it as well). You then need a center dowel all through 3 tiers to prevent sliding.

Other more experienced cakers can tell you about all the other cake support systems. I have not tried those yet, so I can't comment on them!

Good luck! I have my first wedding cake in October, which I'm sure will make me nervous as well!

Happy caking!

JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 11 Aug 2011 , 2:15pm
post #4 of 16

Hi,
I found a link to just a simple little video on youtube,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-_PauOVx74&feature=related

If its your first 3 tiered wedding cake, I would use boards and dowels under each tier, better safe than sorry, it would give you piece of mind if you knew the cake was as solid as it could be.

hope this helps! good luck! birthday.gif

596claire Posted 11 Aug 2011 , 2:16pm
post #5 of 16

ok thatnks thats great i will deffo board and dowel.