I Feel Good...dunuhdunuhdunuhduh! But Is This Illegal? ^_-

Decorating By Cakeuhlicious Updated 11 Aug 2011 , 10:24pm by BlakesCakes

Cakeuhlicious Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeuhlicious Posted 10 Aug 2011 , 9:21pm
post #1 of 9

I'm not worried about this particular instance, it is merely an example. However, if I continue to offer this to friends and friends of friends, I want to make sure it isn't a no-no. Lets start by saying while I work in the baking industry, I don't work at or own a bakery, nor do I have a permit to make food commercially from my home (don't boo-hiss just yet!).

My BFF asked me to make cupcakes for a baby shower she is throwing for her sister. She is going to go shopping with me and purchase the ingredients and then help me decorate too. She asked me what I wanted as payment for this and I said nothing, but I asked her to instead make a donation, in her own name (or the baby's name), to a charity organization I have been interested in helping, and provide me a copy of the receipt.

Since there is no exchange of funds, is there anything terribly sketchy about this? I usually have a guest or two at friend's events that ask me if I would make something for someone other than the friend hosting the event and I always say no, because I make all of my stuff for friends/family for free as it is not legal otherwise. But this I would def. consider continuing, if it was unlikely to get me into trouble. Thoughts?

8 replies
mplaidgirl2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mplaidgirl2 Posted 10 Aug 2011 , 9:59pm
post #2 of 9

Your baking with a friend. I see nothing wrong with it. Even the donation isn't in your name... Nothing wrong with it at all.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 10 Aug 2011 , 10:52pm
post #3 of 9

No exchange of funds = no commercial transaction = no problem.

elizaBakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elizaBakes Posted 10 Aug 2011 , 11:08pm
post #4 of 9