Somebody Just Knock Me In The Head!

Decorating By carmijok Updated 8 Aug 2011 , 6:04am by carmijok

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 10:32pm
post #1 of 22

If I EVER say I'm going to do another wedding cake, somebody please talk me out of it!! I'm in the midst of doing 2 things i've never done before...a wedding cake...and a Mad Hatter cake. And it's not covered with fondant, just buttercream and it's 115 degrees outside and might as well be that inside the way the BC is acting!

This is the heaviest sucker I've ever done. I've got 10 pounds of buttercream on it and the cake is still showing through...I'm getting a bulge on the bottom tier when it's out of the fridge for a bit. I've got 2 tiers stacked and a third that, when I put it on I'll be very challenged to pick it up at all. I can't stack at the venue because the BC will be too soft by then for me to handle.

I literally am decorating the cake with the refrigerator door open because I can't lift it in and out like I normally do.

I was originally just worried about carving the Mad Hatter. Huh! That was nothing compared to everything else I'm afraid is going to happen. I've got every kind of dowel and support system known to man working in there...just hope there's enough cake in between! icon_lol.gif

At this point I am so looking forward to this all being over. I want it to be so perfect for my friend's daughter. I would hate to have her see a melted caketastrophe. Keep your fingers crossed! Delivery tomorrow at noon (when it's supposed to be 108!)

Thanks for the vent.

21 replies
Periperi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Periperi Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 10:41pm
post #2 of 22

OH my goodness! I hope everything turns out well, best of luck to you!!

rpaige Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rpaige Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 10:51pm
post #3 of 22