Getting A Rich Dark Brown Color With Fondant.

Decorating By AbcKids Updated 7 Aug 2011 , 4:26am by AbcKids

AbcKids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AbcKids Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 7

I'm still new to baking and decorating cakes and haven't been able to get dark brown fondant or icing. I used the wilton brown and wasnt able to get it dark enough, should I mix it with another color?

6 replies
instant-gratificaketion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
instant-gratificaketion Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 7

I gave up and just bought chocolate fondant. icon_smile.gif

Paperfishies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Paperfishies Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 8:36pm
post #3 of 7

I can never get a rich brown, so I buy it.

mystsparkle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mystsparkle Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 9:04pm
post #4 of 7

I haven't done this yet (but actually will be trying this weekend) supposedly if you make MMF out of the multi colored mini marshmallows it makes a nice flesh color..you might be able to get a brown out of that with gel coloring added. I'm going for a lighter brown, so not sure how dark it will make it, but you could try that.

Beckydb5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckydb5 Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 9:16pm
post #5 of 7

To get a dark brown color, just use both red and black. I keep adding both colors to the fondant and kneading it until I get the desired shade. Good luck! icon_smile.gif

kmstreepey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kmstreepey Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 9:31pm
post #6 of 7