Tricks To Stop Fondant Cracking??

Decorating By bdalilbomb Updated 18 Aug 2011 , 3:23pm by katj012

bdalilbomb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bdalilbomb Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 11:24am
post #1 of 7

Hi im fairly new to decorating and no matter how thick, thin or inbetween i roll my fondant it seems to crack at the sides when i lift it onto the cake. This is really affecting my work and my confidence. What am i doing wrong? Please help icon_redface.gif

6 replies
Mexx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mexx Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 12:22pm
post #2 of 7

Sometimes it depends on which brand of fondant you're using. I've switched to the homemade marshmallow fondant (MacsMom recipe on this site) and found that it works wonderfully.

Are you kneading a little shortening into the fondant? The way to tell if you've put enough in is after you've thoroughly kneaded it and the fondant is fairly pliable; take the ball and using your two thumbs, gently stretch it apart. The appearance should be relatively smooth without cracking or holes. Once you have achieved this then you can roll it out. Try not to use too much icing sugar when you roll it out as this dries the fondant out.

I've found that using a large silpat to roll out my fondant helps; don't need to use icing sugar on it; only a little dusting on the rolling pin.

BrendaST Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrendaST Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 12:26pm
post #3 of 7

If you use MMF is possible that your fondant is too dry. Try to use less icing sugar when you knead the fondant. Also be careful when adding the colours, too much can change the consistency of your fondant. I learnt that the hard way. It is better to buy already coloured fondant. If it is too dry you can add a little bit of shortening. icon_smile.gif

katj012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katj012 Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 2:19pm
post #4 of 7