Fondant In This Humidity... Please Help!

Decorating By DessertsByLauren Updated 4 Aug 2011 , 6:13am by DessertsByLauren

DessertsByLauren Posted 3 Aug 2011 , 6:02am
post #1 of 9

Hey everyone. So a few weeks ago I made a 3 tiered engagement cake and when I covered the cake in fondant the fondant pulled away and formed these ginormous bubbles and I had to peel it all off and start again.

Fast forward a few weeks and I made my daughters first birthday cake. It was 104. I kept the air on, but refused to put the cake in the fridge in fear of the fondant doing that bubble thing again.

So now this week I am working on a champagne bucket cake and the filling is to be chocolate pastry cream with bananas and strawberries. I have no idea what to do. For starters, I usually use Satin Ice fondant because it's readily available. I was thinking about making some MMF and hoping that that will help solve this issue. I've made MMF before and I admit, i'm not very good at working with it, but I'm willing to try if it will help me be able to refrigerate the cake until pick up.

Can anyone please give me any advice on working with fondant cakes in high heat and humidity. Thanks a million!

8 replies
FromScratchSF Posted 3 Aug 2011 , 6:22am
post #2 of 9

Ouch! For starters, what temperature is it in your kitchen?

Generally if your fondant bubbles it's because your layers have not settled. As they do, they push out air under your fondant. Make sure you compress your layers, I tort, fill, crumb coat, lay a sheet of parchment on top, then lay either a cake board or a cookie sheet on top of that, then evenly distribute some weight on it, like a bag of sugar. Then I pop in the fridge to set up. Then cover in fondant.

You should have zero problems putting your fondant-covered cake in the fridge.

Good luck!

Texas_Rose Posted 3 Aug 2011 , 6:40am
post #3 of 9