Bulk Items- Where Do You Buy And Store It All?!

Business By kiraboo Updated 4 Aug 2011 , 12:52pm by cai0311

kiraboo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kiraboo Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 1:12pm
post #1 of 15

So I'm making the leap and will be starting my business from home come September (woohoo to the Baker's Bill! thumbs_up.gif )... anyway, I've been a hobby baker for a few years now and always bought my stuff at local grocery stores and sometimes Costco for things like butter, sour cream, vanilla, etc. (smaller bulk items). I've been looking at the 50lb sacks of flour, sugar, and powdered sugar and am thinking this:

WHERE am I going to keep all this stuff? lol

First off, do you store your bulk baking ingredients in airtight bins? Have any you recommend?
My pantry is already overflowing and half of it is my baking stuff. A storage closet I have is filled with pans, and now a bunch of boxes i bought in bulk. My hubby is probably rolling his eyes with every purchase, but is wisely keeping his mouth shut, lol.

Also, where are your favorite places to buy in bulk? Not just ingredients, but other cake supplies as well. I found brpboxshop.com for my boxes and cake boards. been quite happy with them so far.

14 replies
brown_suga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brown_suga Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 1:47pm
post #2 of 15

Cambro Containers are really good for large storage solutions. They even have the large storage containers on wheels for 50lb bags of dry ingredients. I would Check out their website for a full product line to find what you want and then shop around to find the best price. HTH icon_smile.gif

heysugar504 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heysugar504 Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 1:51pm
post #3 of 15

I wondered about bulk cake mixes. Anyone know where to buy them?

dchockeyguy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dchockeyguy Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 2:38pm
post #4 of 15