My Oven Took About 70 Mins To Bake Two 6" Cakes

Baking By tsal Updated 2 Aug 2011 , 12:42pm by scp1127

tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 2:41am
post #1 of 9

Is that ridiculously slow? It took me several hours to bake all 6 layers of the cake today.

It's a new LG oven. I'm wondering if I'm the only one that seems to spend an eternity baking. I only have one oven on top of it (I'm a hobbyist).

8 replies
olleharr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
olleharr Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 2:52am
post #2 of 9

How thick are your cake pans? I do 3" thick cakes and it usually takes about 50 minutes.

tsal Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 3:06am
post #3 of 9

They're 3" pans filled about halfway (maybe a touch more).

shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanter Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 3:20am
post #4 of 9

Have you checked the temperature of your oven to see if the setting is accurate?

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 2 Aug 2011 , 5:40am
post #5 of 9