Using Dowels

Decorating By SteveJ Updated 1 Aug 2011 , 2:39pm by AnnieCahill

SteveJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SteveJ Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:14pm
post #1 of 4

I am making a spherical 3D football cake. it is only going to be a 6inch diameter sphere as i haven't got a bowl or tin for anything bigger (and a 6 inch sphere gives a deceptively large amount of cake!)

I'm going to place this ball on top of a small round cake (no more than 1-2 inches high) but i wonder how to keep it from rolling off! im contemplating sticking a dowel through the middle of the ball. i have never used dowels before and have a few questions!

1) is a dowel needed or would lots of buttercream do the job and cement the ball on top?!

2) if it do use a dowel would i need to attach it to the cake board somehow? (the cake is just a victoria sponge cake so is not very dense and supportive!)

3) if i do need to attach it to the board how would i do it?! (cut a whole and thread it through or just glue it down?)

I'm sorry if these are very basic questions for some of you pros but i have no experience of this!

Thanks

3 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:35pm
post #2 of 4

If your base board is thick enough (several layers of corrugated cardboard or a cake drum), you can just hammer the center dowel into the base board.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:37pm
post #3 of 4

stick a small wooden dowel down the centre and this will keep the ball from rolling off.That's all you need..

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:39pm
post #4 of 4

Ok get it. Football=soccer (I seemed to have forgotten that because I was thinking...well a football would lie flat on the cake so what's the big deal. LOL. Then I saw you were from England so it all became clear. Sorry.).

Here is what I would do: