3D Coffee Mug -- What Did I Do Wrong?

Decorating By Mama2Mischief Updated 2 Aug 2011 , 12:25am by JanetBme

Mama2Mischief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mama2Mischief Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:56am
post #1 of 9

I'm still a newbie at this, so every cake I make is a challenge. I enjoy it, but get frustrated when things look "wrong" to me, and I can't figure out how to make them better.

I made a cake for my FIL's 70th b-day this weekend. I wanted a 3D coffee mug, so I stacked 4 layers of 4"round chocolate cake with BC in between the layers. Dirty iced it, then covered it in fondant. EEEEEEEK!!!! No matter what I did, it wouldn't stop "sagging". And the fondant rumpled something fierce along the bottom edge. I could NOT get the stuff to lie flat to save my life.

While I don't plan on doing this exact thing again, I figure at some point I'll want to try another home-carved 3D item, and would like to avoid another near-disaster. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

(I tried to attach a pic, but I don't see it actually attached.... any ideas?)

8 replies
shawna29xx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shawna29xx Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 3:37am
post #2 of 9

Question did you use dowels in the cake and if the cake were 4" high each use a cake board and dowel the bottom 2 cakes I leave the cake over night to settle before covering to keep it from sagging. I'm also new at this but lindy smith books are my savior. I don't have the hat box cake posted cause my computer is broken but I wish you luck and hope you get better.

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 3:39am
post #3 of 9

i went and looked in your photos and I thought the cake looked real nice! for someone that is just starting you did very NEAT work!