How Do I Price My Cakes?

Decorating By mbyrne Updated 2 Aug 2011 , 11:44pm by mbyrne

mbyrne Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 1:06am
post #1 of 7

HI, I am interested in everyone's ideas on how I should price my cakes. I am pretty new to everything, so I am nowhere near professional status. I need help pricing out some sheet cakes.

1/4 Sheet (9 x 13): One layer of cake (2in high)
1/4 Sheet (9 x 13): Two layers of cake (4in high)

1/2 Sheet (18 x 13): One layer
1/2 Sheet (18 x 13): Two layers

Full Sheet (26 x 1icon_cool.gif: One layer
Full Sheet (26 x 1icon_cool.gif: Two layers

Thanks for all your advice

6 replies
ajwonka Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 1:24am
post #2 of 7

This isn't going to be the quick answer you're probably hoping for but you need to do some research too determine pricing. It totally depends on your area. Scout out local bakeries to see what is accepted. Remember to take into account your skill level, difficulty of each cake, etc. Make sure the price covers not only your ingredients but also a wage for your time, insurance costs, license fee, sales tax, etc. Good luck!

Marianna46 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 1:43am
post #3 of 7