Grrrr...they Think I Have Nothing Better To Do!

Decorating By molly_36 Updated 31 Jul 2011 , 12:42am by madcobbler

molly_36 Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:18pm
post #1 of 17

I'm a hobby baker who hails from a large family so I get asked quite often to bake for birthdays and other family celebrations. I love making beautiful cakes for them but I'm getting sick and tired of last minute requests (which I have yet to decline) but even more, I hate that they tell me one time to pick it up then show up hrs later! It seems like it's happening more and more.

I was asked Monday to make a graduation cake for today. Stacked cake for 40 ppl. OK...My niece tells me she'd be here at 10:30am. It's now 12:15pm and I'm still sitting here, missing my son's soccer game!!! icon_evil.gif I'm tempted to leave but what am I going to do with all this cake?

Any suggestions on how to get this situation under control?

16 replies
mommie917 Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:31pm
post #2 of 17

If I was dealing with this situation I would leave. You definitely have better things to do. They can pick it up when its convenient for you since they "missed their appointment".

SBaker Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:36pm
post #3 of 17

At some point, you will realize that your time is more valuable than someone's who thinks their time is more important than yours.

ShopGrl1128 Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:38pm
post #4 of 17

My biggest pet peeve is people who has no respect for my suggestion? unassemble the cake, cut it the into pieces, wrap it in saran wrap, then zip lock bag it and freeze it. Serve a piece to YOUR own family for dessert every night.
If she doesn't care about you missing time with your son, why would you care about her cake?

olleharr Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:41pm
post #5 of 17

If it were my niece I'd be on the phone chewing her butt for being late. Then I'd set a different time.....around YOUR schedule this time.

Rosanaymi Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 5:52pm
post #6 of 17