Non Wedding Cake Tasting

Decorating By imagineiticed Updated 2 Aug 2011 , 12:45am by verosuperstar

imagineiticed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagineiticed Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 2:29am
post #1 of 8

i am pretty new to decorating, at it now for 2 years. While I have recently had a wedding cake order they didn't require a tasting so I haven't really put much thought into it. However I have recently been asked about a cake tasting for a non wedding cake. I know before a bride and groom shell out hundreds of dollars for a cake they want to taste said cake but for a $50 party cake I'm not sure how to handle it.

1) should I charge for a tasting and if so what's fair?
2) does anyone else out there offer tastings to clients that are not there for a wedding cake? Or should I just have them order a small version of the cake they are after?

Any help you all can offer would be great.

Lisa

7 replies
QTCakes1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QTCakes1 Posted 30 Jul 2011 , 2:41am
post #2 of 8

I offer tastings on servings of 100 or more. You can always ask how many servings they are looking for then let them know you only do tastings for a 100 servings or more. I would never do it for a $50 order and they shouldn't expect it. Of course, you will have some, but you just have to explain your policies.

imagineiticed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagineiticed Posted 31 Jul 2011 , 1:18am
post #3 of 8

Thank you that's a great idea! thumbs_up.gif

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 31 Jul 2011 , 1:23am
post #4 of 8

Agreed. We only do free tastings/consultations for wedding and large events. If they really want to try your cake before they order the party cake, they can order an 8 inch or a dozen cupcakes.

jessicakes63 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessicakes63 Posted 31 Jul 2011 , 1:34am
post #5 of 8