When Did You Feel You Were Ready For Wedding Cakes?

Decorating By luckylibra Updated 27 Aug 2011 , 4:20am by Bettyviolet101

luckylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luckylibra Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 9:50pm
post #1 of 21

I am a home baker (I have already contacted my local HD and they interpret the HBV to include baking cakes from home with non-perishable ingredients and proper labeling, I know not all HDs are reading it this way but mine is, yea for me) I have done many birthday cakes and feel my work is ok but not to the level of the posters here. I have turned down several wedding cake requests as I just dont feel I am there yet and would hate to disappoint the bride. When did you all know you were ready to take that step? Are there any classes or instructors near me (south of Indianapolis) that would provide that higher level of training? I have looked but not located any. Thanks in advance for any assistance, this site is awesome!

20 replies
LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 10:35pm
post #2 of 21

Sometimes I still don't feel ready for wedding cakes! icon_wink.gif

On a more serious note: I guess we felt ready when we were able to achieve a truly polished, professional look with all of our cakes, regardless of the occasion. It's always a little bit nerve-wracking for me, since you have in the back of your mind what a big deal the cake is at a wedding. But if you just treat every cake you do like it's a big deal, and do it to the best of your ability, the type of event it is for doesn't make a whole lot of difference.

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 10:59pm
post #3 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CakeMaster2009

Sometimes I still don't feel ready for wedding cakes! icon_wink.gif