Silly Question For Beginner

Decorating By evans000 Updated 27 Jul 2011 , 11:13am by gourmetsharon

evans000 Posted 27 Jul 2011 , 7:30am
post #1 of 6

Hi Guys this is probably a silly question but i'm constantly thinking about it and didnt dare ask as i felt silly but as i'm a beginner ive got to learn somewhere and you lovely people are the best to ask.

I get quite confused over gumpaste, flower paste All the different pastes basically) and what is edible. I always use fondant to cover a cake and if i need to make say for instance flowers or a figure for a cake ive been advised to add tylose powder so it dries hard.

I cant imagine having to tell a customer and go over a cake and say what is edible and what is not.

I am attempting to make a castle next week for a birthday and have been advised to use gumpaste for the turrets so i will also use that for the castle door as it is ajar on the photo, will the people take the door off what if they try and eat it and its solid.

I did say this was a silly questgion but sometimes those silly questions go a long way and open new doors when answered.

Please please advise me in detail as this is really bugging me, and my course is finished for the summer holidays.

Thanks Helen

5 replies
leah_s Posted 27 Jul 2011 , 7:51am
post #2 of 6

gumpaste is edible. Not tasty, but edible.

As a general rule, if it's on the cake it should be edible.

evans000 Posted 27 Jul 2011 , 8:05am
post #3 of 6

So do you advise your customers what parts to not eat (as it doesnt sound very professional i'm hoping you say no ha ha) or do you just let them work it out for themselves.

Does fondant ever dry solid?

I really am confused, i cant imagine biting into a piece of cake and there being really hard bits in it, or is that the norm? or do people pick them off?

Like i mentioned i am completely new to this so as much advice as possible would help

Thanks guys

dulcecakes Posted 27 Jul 2011 , 9:52am
post #4 of 6