Cake Decoration Class : How To ?

Business By claribou Updated 26 Jul 2011 , 3:44pm by SteveJ

claribou Posted 26 Jul 2011 , 2:34am
post #1 of 2

I'm in the process of starting a cake decorating class. I've received many requests and there is absolutely no class in a 100miles radius.

Now, how shoud I proceed ? I have many questions :

- how much should I charge ?
- do I need to have printed notes ?
- should I include materiel in the price or is it better to have students buy the materiel themselves ?
- what should I teach for a newbie class ?
- how many students at once ?
- what are the do's and dont's ?

Thanks in advance for your input on this.

1 reply
SteveJ Posted 26 Jul 2011 , 3:44pm
post #2 of 2

Hi Isabelle,

I'm a novice baker and have just finished my first cake decorating course so i thought i would tell you about what i liked/found useful from my recent experience of a course!

My course did have printed notes and i think that they are useful! there were lots of things mentioned in class and i would never have remembered them all! i also think that there are quite a few things that experienced decorators skip over or assume novices like me know and so detailed notes definately helped me fill in the gaps! they were nothing special; just hand drawn diagrams and printed text! but if you can make them look more professional then i would be really impressed!

the course i went on included materials in the price. i do think this was a good idea because if you left it up to us to bring in our own stuff people will bring in the wrong stuff or forget! However, my course was run at a local food college so they had vast stocks of icing, colours, marzipan etc that they would have bought in bulk anyway. i have to admit that when looking for a course to go on i looked for one with the materials included as i was unsure of how much it would cost on top of the course fee if i had to buy equipment/supplies myself!