Hi Ratio Shortening....how Long Will It Keep

Decorating By sarahokie Updated 26 Jul 2011 , 2:38am by vicki3336

sarahokie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahokie Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 8

I have found a place locally (OKC, OK) that sells Sweetex and am dying to try it. I am only a hobby baker and don't do that many cakes. Can I freeze the shortening to make it last longer? How long is it supposed to keep?

I can't order smaller quantities online because it is too hot right now and need it for a family wedding cake next month. Too bad I don't know anyone I could split it with...

7 replies
scoobydid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scoobydid Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 8

With my unscientific 2 cents here, I can say I bought a box of Sweetex Dec 2010 and it looks and functions in the same way today as the day I eagerly opened the box. It lives on the floor in the pantry, faithfully awaiting its next assignment. I'm a hobby baker and in 7 months, have used about 1/3 of it. I sure hope it lasts forever (or at least until I use it up).

I'll give you a bump for an official answer.

I just took a look and the box has a 1 888 404 1004 phone # for questions/comments.

vicki3336 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vicki3336 Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 9:55pm
post #3 of 8

I, too, am a hobby baker and when I received my 50 pound package of Sweetex three years ago, I divided it up into smaller bags, vacuum sealed them and put them in the freezer. The last batch I thawed was just as fresh as the first. I ran out a couple of months ago and didn't think to order before it got so hot. BIG mistake!

sarahokie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahokie Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 10:15pm
post #4 of 8

Thanks guys. Wow, Vicki, three years! That is impressive. And makes me feel better that maybe I won't be wasting $$ on shortening I can't use up.

cakegrandma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegrandma Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 10:17pm
post #5 of 8