Cake For 450 Ppl

Decorating By ihateveggies Updated 25 Jul 2011 , 6:43pm by kakeladi

ihateveggies Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 3

Has anyone done this? I am a home baker (in Canada) with one oven - is this even possible? I also have no idea what to charge the couple - its for a wedding. I've made a cake for the groom to be before & charged him $200 for a cake for 25 ppl (it was for an optometrist office opening party).

I understand that the cake they would cut would not feed 450 ppl but be for their cutting purposes only & that they'd have slabs in the kitchen to cut up...but I would guess I'd have to freeze some of this ahead of time & I'm just not sure how this all would work?

Any tips???

2 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:13pm
post #2 of 3

Well it will depend on the actual cake the bride chooses.This will determine servings from that cake and then you can make up the difference with sheet cakes in the kitchen..so for example..If bride chooses a cake for 200 then you need to make sheet cakes to feed 200 or whatever the final guest count is given to you by the bride.

Bake early and freeze whatever sheets you can as they don't have to be decorated as elaborately as the wedding cake.Time management is key..Bake a few days in advance...Make icing in advance..Stack/assemble cake and crumbcoat to allow for settling a few days in advance etc...Decorate day before.Deliver and setup the day of..

kakeladi Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:43pm
post #3 of 3

As I remember the largest cake I made made served around 300-350. You will need to start baking at least a month ahead and fz. Even slabs take time to mix batter; bake; cool; fz; and later ice. You will need a fzr *just* for all that cake!
Is it possible? Yah, but it's a LOT of work!