Stacking Cakes Level

Decorating By 2xMiMi Updated 26 Jul 2011 , 11:39am by 2xMiMi

2xMiMi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2xMiMi Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 4:40pm
post #1 of 15

What is the trick? I made a 10" (2 2in layers) with a 6" (2 2in layers) for a friend who just wanted this for her wedding for pictures and anniversary cake. This was my gift to them but I can tell how unlevel in the pictures I made. I didn't feel like there was a dome and had the bottom level up. I know I need practice as this is my first attempt but want to know pointers for when I make another one. Any help is greatly appreciated. icon_biggrin.gif

14 replies
AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:24pm
post #2 of 15

Did you make sure the cakes were perfectly level? You can go buy a small level to use for baking to make sure the cakes are level.

If the cakes were definitely level, you need to make sure you are stacking them level. What did you use for supports? Dowels? Straws? If you are using either of those you need to cut them all to the exact same height. If you cut them based on the height where your icing level is, you are almost guaranteed to have an unlevel cake. If there are any gaps you can use a border to help hide them.

2xMiMi Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:34pm
post #3 of 15

Since they top of the cakes were slightly below the top of the pan I didn't cut any off but did have bottom of cakes up. I guess I need to cut some off top even if below the pan. They won't be quite 2 in but maybe will be more level.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:35pm
post #4 of 15

Which part of the cake was unlevel? The whole cake in general, or just the tops of the cakes?

Did you level the cakes before you filled and stacked them? When you were icing the top, did you keep that flat and level or did you follow the shape of the unleveled cake?

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile