Help Please! Where Do I Begin To Freeze A Cake?

Decorating By Torimomma Updated 25 Jul 2011 , 11:21pm by Torimomma

Torimomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Torimomma Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 3:24pm
post #1 of 11

My DD's party is Saturday and I want to make her a 6",8", 10" buttercream layer cake. I'm new to frosting cakes smooth so it takes me a while and I am also a student so my free time is limited. I was thinking I'd make the cakes early in the week, frost them smooth and freeze them. Then on Saturday morning add my pre-prepped fondant accents, buttercream borders and topper.
What I want to know is, is it best for me to freeze the cakes unfrosted or frosted? If unfrosted, do I level first? Do i need to wait for the cake to defrost before adding the fondant accents?
Thanks for looking!

10 replies
sparkle25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparkle25 Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 11

I freeze my cakes not frosted. I cover them in saran and then a layer of aluminum foil and freeze them while they are still warm from the oven. When I pull them out of the freezer that is when I level them and then I dam/fill/frost them.

I'm sure you'll get lots of varying responses on this, as I think everyone adapts their own technique to what works best for them. There probably is a way to freeze them already frosted, but I've never done it.

pumpkinroses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pumpkinroses Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 4:05pm
post #3 of 11

I usually freeze my cake unfrosted also. I actually use 2 layers of saran and 2 layers of foil. I have froze them both warm out of the oven as well as cooled off, both ways still produce a nice moist cake when unthawed.

I have froze cakes frosted with BC and Fondant. These ones I placed the cakes in the box and covered the entire box the same way as above.