Groom Tripped Over Dog And Dropped The Cake...ugggggggggggg

Decorating By angelleyes Updated 23 Jul 2011 , 5:57am by Coral3

angelleyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angelleyes Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:41am
post #1 of 11

So I did my first wedding cake over the weekend.. It was a challange but I wasn't going to let the cake win.. icon_razz.gif
I was given a weeks notice.. I told her to have a back up plan just in case since i'm new to all this.. It was a rush wedding due to a serious illness,
originally is was going to be in dec.
The groom picked up the cake the day of the wedding with special instrutions to be very careful and take it slow.
An hour later I got a text from the bride saying the groom tripped over their dog and the cake went flying.. I was almost in tears icon_cry.gif
Anyway my question is should I refund her money.. I only asked for a $100 because i'm new????
And I'm also a hairstylist, as a wedding present since it was a rush wedding and she was low on money I highlighted her whole head as a wedding present

10 replies
cakestyles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestyles Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:45am
post #2 of 11

Are they asking you for a refund?

I don't know of any business that would refund money because someone tripped over their dog and dropped the cake, so I hope they're not expecting you to.

klutzy_baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klutzy_baker Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:51am
post #3 of 11

I know it's terrible that the bride's cake was ruined, but I don't think that you are responsible for providing a refund.

You didn't cause the cake to fall....and I know you feel bad for the bride....but you already provided her with a lovely cake for a very low price and gave her a new "do". I think that was very generous.

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:51am
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelleyes

Anyway my question is should I refund her money..