post #1 of 31

is called to order.

Who's up?

Whatcha workin' on?

30 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:36am
post #2 of 31

Three weddings this weekend + a big wedding show. One cake (little three tier) delivered today. Six tier + a kitchen cake for tomorrow, nearly finished. May or may not prep Sunday's cake tonight. May get some sleep. Baking samples for the wedding show tomorrow. Fortunately the Sunday delivery is due well before the wedding show starts. Got lucky there!

Dani1081 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dani1081 Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 2:54am
post #3 of 31

Good evening! It's my first time here at the Friday Night Cake Club. I'm working on my first three tier topsy turvy wedding cake. It's a big cake for me - 14", 12" and 8" layers. So far so good, but I'm worried to death about the support system. . .I put 10 wilton plastic dowels in the 14" layer, put a plastic cake plate on top, then placed the 12" tier, which has 8 plastic dowels in it and the plastic cake plate for the 8" tier in place. . I have a center dowel that will go through those two tiers into the base ( hubby drilled a hole in the plastic cake plate) and plan to transport to the venue like that. I will place the 8" cake on the plastic cake plate once I get there, then pipe a border and should be ready to roll. Ugh! Figuring out the support for a HEAVY cake has given me a headache but hopefully that will work. What do you guys think?

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 3:02am
post #4 of 31