Teaching An Intro Cake Class...tips???

Decorating By Lynnette89 Updated 21 Jul 2011 , 1:02pm by tiptop57

Lynnette89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lynnette89 Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 5:49am
post #1 of 4

Hi all,
I started making cakes about a year-and-a-half ago. My friend's mom (who is a chef) asked me if I could teach a cake class at the place where she works. I gladly agreed, but I have never done anything like this before and I still consider myself an amateur. I was thinking, teaching a cake on fondant and gumpaste basics? Showing them how to knead, color, roll, and cover a cake with fondant? Teaching them how to color and make props out of gumpaste? Like I said, I've never done anything like this so I don't know what to expect! All tips, advice, input, and thoughts would be VERY much appreciated! icon_smile.gif
-Lynnette

3 replies
pastrygirls Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastrygirls Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 6:08am
post #2 of 4

how to mask a cake with buttercream. how to properly handle fondant and how to cover a cake correctly. maybe a couple techniques on borders and a couple techniques on how to make quick flowers, and other designs.

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 12:33pm
post #3 of 4

I'm a hobby baker, but I teach a VERY basic class for the local community ed program. I work in buttercream, and that's mainly what I teach. I try to teach them how they can decorate a cake without buying a lot of cake toys.