Pricing For 3D Cakes

Decorating By Cathy38 Updated 22 Jul 2011 , 11:51am by angelcakes11

Cathy38 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 5:49pm
post #1 of 12

How Do I... Price a never been done 3D or sculpted cake? I am a newbie
and have the basics down but still confused on pricing for special cakes.
Attached is a cake I just made (First Time) for my nephews 5th birthday. The stormtrooper body is cake and the head is rice crispy. The green Lego is about 9 x 5 and one cup cake.Would greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you Please see picture: http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2103183

11 replies
RetiredNavyChief Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 8:44pm
post #2 of 12

The min. price for my 3D's are $100, then go up from there.

angelcakes11 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 8:58pm
post #3 of 12

I seem to get a bit lost when pricing cakes and here's why... firstly we need to charge obviously for our ingredients in making the cake, there are so many different types of cakes and fillings that I am still lost on what to charge for what cake but that aside, I am supposed to charge for all ingredients, frosting, fondant( I purchase it) decorations and then my time? This is where I get lost .... without even charging for my time on a cake as all cakes differ depending on detail and tiers just the ingredients, fondant, and buttercream is already well past $60.00 minimum!! and thats not counting any of my time. so basically am I understanding some of the posts on here about pricing that cakes go for well over $100.00??? I am also curious on how much or how do you calculate what you pay yourself an hour or per cake or however. When it comes to pricing I am really lost I am always afraid to charge astronomical prices as I think people will think I lost my mind!

vgray Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 9:06pm
post #4 of 12