First And Probably Last Time Needing Ganache--Easiest Recipe

Baking By cakeflake80 Updated 28 Jul 2011 , 1:52am by icer101

cakeflake80 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:24am
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone! Next weekend, I will be doing a cake that requires the chocolate dripping down the sides look. I am assuming that is ganache, right? I have no experience whatsoever with ganache, and I can't imagine I'll ever need it again unless I make this same cake again. I'm looking for the easiest, most fool-proof recipe that tastes good, and also any tips on getting it to drip down the sides but not completely cover the sides. Almost like wax melting down the sides of a candle. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

9 replies
carmijok Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:52am
post #2 of 10

I got this recipe from Southern Living and I use it all the time.

12 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips (I use Nestle's Toll House)

1 1/2 cups of whipping cream (I found the best tasting to be Land 'o Lakes

3 TBL of butter.

Heat cream until scalded but not boiling. Remove from heat and pour in choc chips. Let sit and then stir to melt all the chips. Whisk in butter until melted.

Let cool to room temp and you're good to go. I like to put it one of those condiment containers so I can drip it around the edges instead of just relying on the drips off the top of the cake. I have several ganache topped cakes in my photos.

Also, if you take the ganache and put it in your mixer with the whisk attachment you can whip it into a delicious chocolate filling-- or even use as a non-crusting frosting. It takes quite a long time to get to soft peaks but it does get there. HTH!

cakeflake80 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 5:01am
post #3 of 10

Thank you so much! That seems very easy....I don't know why I thought ganache was this overly complicated thing! I looked at your pictures and that is exactly the look I am going for....I'm so happy! Thanks have been very helpful!

carmijok Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 5:17am
post #4 of 10