Rasberry Filling But No Layers To Fill

Decorating By theCword Updated 21 Jul 2011 , 4:27am by myheartsdesire

theCword Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 3:58am
post #1 of 9

Hello! So my next project is going to be a vertical layer cake. I've decided to go simple (and yummy) and do white and chocolate cake.

Because it's a vertical cake, there are no layers, per say so no filling. I suppose I will do a nice BC but is there a way to add rasberry filling? Like under the crumb coat maybe?

I'm a newbie and this might be a potential disaster/mess so thought I'd ask. How can I put me some yummy rasberry filling without anyplace to fill?

8 replies
mo_gateaux Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:21am
post #2 of 9

can you mix a raspberry sauce into your buttercream and use it for the layers? I do it to my cream cheese icing and it works fine! It would make it pink, but who cares! it would be delish!
Good luck!

myheartsdesire Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 5:01am
post #3 of 9

Maybe infuse a simple syrup with raspberry flavor? Then cover the cake with that, then do the icing.

cakegroove Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 8:18pm
post #4 of 9

Pipe some into your cake every few inches, as if you were piping into a cupcake. scrape off the excess and then crumb coat it and ice it

theCword Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 8:40pm
post #5 of 9

Mo, that's the thing. I won't have any layers because it's vertical. And since I'm going to use a crusting BC for frosting I don't think I can add rasberry sauce to it, right?

Cakegroove- I like that idea!!! So basically the top of the cake will have holes all over it, right? I'm trying to imagine it...

myhearts- how would I infuse rasberry into my simple syrup?

BlakesCakes Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 9:21pm
post #6 of 9

How tall do you want to go with this?

You need a support board & dowels every 4-5 inches of vertical cake.