Isomalt, I Did A Search But Didn't Find Anything. :*(

Sugar Work By Cakeuhlicious Updated 24 Jul 2011 , 4:10pm by JenniferMI

Cakeuhlicious Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeuhlicious Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 5

Hi,

I read a thread here recently on sugar gems and did a little research. I decided this would be a cool idea for a cake I'm making at the end of this month.

I've never worked with Isomalt before but I figured I would buy some and play with it. I did read the extra tips in the "sugar bottle" tutorial, which looked helpful. My questions are:

1. At what point in the cooking stage do you color your isomalt?

2. Can I use my standard gel colors that I use for baking or are there special colors?

3. Can you use extracts to add flavor to it??

4. I've seen the videos of it being made on the stove...can you make it in the microwave?

I've looked around for "how to" videos just on how to cook it, but I couldnt find many instructional videos, most are how to use it once it is already made. Any info/recommendations would be great icon_smile.gif

4 replies
myheartsdesire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
myheartsdesire Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 6:34pm
post #2 of 5

http://www.sugarcraft.com/catalog/candies/isomalt.htm See if this helps. I always initially did it on the stove then reheated as needed in the microwave when pulling. You have to get it to a certain temp (320F~155C) to use.

myheartsdesire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
myheartsdesire Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 6:36pm
post #3 of 5

didn't know we couldn't do websites =/ ....I just did a search for isomalt information

buttercuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buttercuppie Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 6:41pm
post #4 of 5

I got this from fancy flours . com

Recipe for sugar free Isomalt Hard Candy
YIELD: Fills approximately 4 tray molds of .75" sized cavities.

1 cup Isomalt