Wire Used On Cake??

Decorating By Aunt_Goose Updated 19 Jul 2011 , 5:23pm by Texas_Rose

Aunt_Goose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aunt_Goose Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 1:42am
post #1 of 11

Hi guys! icon_smile.gif

Well for starters I'm fairly new to cake making (maybe 6 months) and new to CC (just a few weeks) and I have already spent plenty of time browsing the *amazing* cake creations on here. I have seen quite a few cakes with pretty wire looking swirls and loops. See example here:

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1811940

Now, I know from doing craft projects that wire is very toxic and should not be used with food. My question is.....how do you do this? Is there a special non-toxic food grade wire available??

10 replies
VaBelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VaBelle Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 1:53am
post #2 of 11

There's been lots of postings on this topic and lots of opinions. Many of the bigger named cakers stick the wires directly into the cake. Many people on here do not and are against it. They often stick the wires in a mound or ball of fondant or gumpaste or use coffee stirrers and stick them in the cake and the wire in that. I read somewhere of one person using cloth-covered wire. I haven't found any, but found it an interesting idea. Welcome to CC and good luck with your baking and decorating.

Aunt_Goose Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 1:59am
post #3 of 11

Hmm...the coffee stirrers sounds like a neat idea. And I have actually used cloth covered wire in a craft project before. In fact I may still have some on hand. (I think It was some type of floral wire, probably from Joann Fabrics) Idk though...i'm not sure if I would still be content (safety wise) with just that thin fabric between the wire and the cake.

Thanks for your quick response! icon_smile.gif

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 2:01am
post #4 of 11