How Do I Put Tiers Together?????????

Decorating By angelleyes Updated 18 Jul 2011 , 2:14pm by ShandraB

angelleyes Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 2:13am
post #1 of 8

I just recently made my first tierd cake. The whole time I did the cake I was thinking about how I was going to stack them. I've seen some ways to do it and not sure which is the best . It was for a wedding cake that she begged me to make, I told her that i'm learning and wasn't sure I could do it. It was a wedding that was pushed up due to a serious illness in the family. I first tried to cut the board underneath and set it on top of the cake and decorate around it to hide it. But of course it wasnt sturdy.
So I then decided to just put the second tier on top. But because I have few tools I went on luck and moved it. It went ok except for a little fondant breaking on the side.
Any other suggestions what I should do? I'm mainly self taught but in classes right now and haven't got that far in the class yet

Thank your for any advice!!!

7 replies
gsbcakes Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 2:46am
post #3 of 8

I am a little confused about how you explained that. The smaller tier is on a cake circle, correct? Everyone has a different opinion so I can only tell you what we do. We buy bubble tea straws from our local asian market (milkshake straws, they are much wider than regular straws). Put the pan you used for the small tier in the center of the bigger cake. Very carefully trace around it with a knife. Cut the straws to the exact height of the bottom cake. put them about an inch or two apart on the inside of the circle you traced. After all of the straws are in, put the smaller tier on top. Make sure you put a center dowel all the way through. To get it through the cardboard sharper it with a pencil sharpener and carefully hammer it in. finish decorating. If this doesn't make sense, PM me and I will try to help you through it.

ShandraB Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 2:54am
post #4 of 8