Rice Krispie Treats - Vegan??

Baking By Aimomo26 Updated 15 Jul 2011 , 3:34am by jason_kraft

Aimomo26 Posted 13 Jul 2011 , 11:59pm
post #1 of 8

I want to make some small baby decorations (rattle, pacifier etc..) for a baby shower cake I'm doing and I thought it would be fun to experiment with rice krispie treats - However I would like to make them vegan since many of the people attending the shower are vegan (marshmellow isn't vegan). I have been able to find a few vegan rice krispie treat recipes but I'm not sure how well they would work in terms of molding. Has anyone had any experience with this?

7 replies
Aimomo26 Posted 14 Jul 2011 , 1:10am
post #2 of 8

haha well I see everyone knows as much about this as I do icon_smile.gif I'm going to try this recipe and I'll let everyone know how it works out!

http://www.suzannes-specialties.com/recipes/RicemellowCrispyBars.pdf

Adevag Posted 14 Jul 2011 , 1:42am
post #3 of 8

I don't make a whole lot of rice krispy treats, but I heard from one of the TV cake shows that when they make rice krispies to be used for 3D molding, they don't include butter, only marshmallows. I have seen vegan marshmallows at Whole Foods. So maybe you can just use a regular recipe and just use vegan marshmallows?

P.S. Another tip I got was to crush the rice krispys before adding the melted marshmallows to get a smoother surface on your sculptures!

jason_kraft Posted 14 Jul 2011 , 1:57am
post #4 of 8

We sell vegan RKTs as standalone products, we just use corn syrup and vegan margarine instead of marshmallows and butter. It should be OK for molding, we've never tried though.

Here is one recipe:
http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6559.0

gatorcake Posted 14 Jul 2011 , 2:45am
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_kraft

We sell vegan RKTs as standalone products, we just use corn syrup and vegan margarine instead of marshmallows and butter. It should be OK for molding, we've never tried though.

Here is one recipe:
http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6559.0




Just keep in mind that like marshmallow, not all sugar is vegan. Only mention this because you do not identify what kind of sugar you use in this recipe.

jason_kraft Posted 14 Jul 2011 , 2:56am
post #6 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorcake

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_kraft

We sell vegan RKTs as standalone products, we just use corn syrup and vegan margarine instead of marshmallows and butter. It should be OK for molding, we've never tried though.

Here is one recipe:
http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6559.0



Just keep in mind that like marshmallow, not all sugar is vegan. Only mention this because you do not identify what kind of sugar you use in this recipe.



Very true. Cane sugar (which is processed with animal bone char) is one of those ingredients (like honey) that some vegans eat and some don't. Beet sugar is a pure vegan alternative.

Baker_Rose Posted 15 Jul 2011 , 3:04am
post #7 of 8

I also know a few vegans and they wouldn't touch corn syrup because it's mainly from GMO corn. I have no idea if there is organic corn syrup out there that would be GMO free. It isn't an animal issue as much as a ethical issue.

Tami icon_smile.gif

jason_kraft Posted 15 Jul 2011 , 3:34am
post #8 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baker_Rose

I also know a few vegans and they wouldn't touch corn syrup because it's mainly from GMO corn. I have no idea if there is organic corn syrup out there that would be GMO free. It isn't an animal issue as much as a ethical issue.



I've never heard that one before (we've never had a specific request for non-GMO ingredients) but you can buy organic corn syrup. Rice syrup is also available as an alternative, although we haven't used it.

http://www.wholesomesweeteners.com/brands/Wholesome_Sweeteners/Organic_Corn_Syrup.html
http://www.lundberg.com/products/syrup.aspx

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%