Wilton Classes - Where To Start?

Decorating By leafO Updated 13 Jul 2011 , 4:07am by leafO

leafO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leafO Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 1:42pm
post #1 of 8

Hi, I had some questions for any Wilton method instructors or someone who has taken the wilton classes. I was wondering what info the different class levels cover. Is it important to start with level one or will it be review for me? I'm self taught so far but would love to take some classes to help me refine my skills and learn more, I'm just not sure where to start? I would love some input or suggestions, thanks!

7 replies
CakeCrystals Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeCrystals Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 2:15pm
post #2 of 8

Depending on your skill level, I would start with the first course. I think Wilton has tutorials on youtube. There are also tons of other cake decorating lessons/tutorials on youtube. check them out. icon_biggrin.gif

dmo4ab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmo4ab Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 2:15pm
post #3 of 8

I spoke with a lady just a few weeks ago that has been teaching Wilton method classes at our local Hobby Lobby. I took them about 4 years ago.
They have updated their courses now, which is really a good thing. They are finally a little more up-to-date with current techniques and trends. If you have a local store that offers the courses, they usually have the course books on the shelf......take a look at course one and see if you think it would help you. They may even have the course content on-line, not sure.
I don't regret taking them. Even though since then, I've had to teach myself a lot more....and this site helped a lot with that!

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 2:25pm
post #4 of 8

As a WMI, even if you have some experience, I would suggest starting with the Decorating Basics course. If you get a good WMI, you will take away a lot of information.