Making Sushi

Decorating By jcrook Updated 11 Jul 2011 , 1:22am by handovertheasparagus

jcrook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jcrook Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 6:26pm
post #1 of 10

I am making a "sushi" cake and want to know how best to achieve the most realistic appearance, especially for the fish. What substrate would be best - gumpaste, fondant, other? And how should I color or paint it to achieve the subtle glistening of real fish. I am an amateur cake baker, but have some experience with gumpaste, fondant and isomalt. I'm no expert, but am pretty crafty. The cake is a surprise for my husband's birthday and we are flying to the birthday destination. I was planning on having the cake baked by a bakery at the destination. I want to take the "table settings": sushi plates, chopsticks and sushi to set atop the cake on arrival. Any help in either the decoration or the air transport would be appreciated!

9 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 6:33pm
post #2 of 10

When I made sushi for a cake, I used finely ground coconut for the rice, and fondant for the fish. I painted the fish with gel color to make it shiny.

LaWmn223 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaWmn223 Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 6:38pm
post #3 of 10

I made all my sushi out of modeling chocolate...the plates and the chopsticks were made of gumpaste. You can use piping gel to make the fish a little glossy. If the humidity is hi were you are going you need to make your pieces out of a medium like gumpaste that will not melt or droop.

jenlg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenlg Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 7:46pm
post #4 of 10

Here's a sushi cake I did. I didn't do the actual fish, however, I saw a cake show from Vegas and the girls were making sushi. She used fondant and painted it with luster dust. She had a kinda coral colored fondant, drew lines across it and painted them white, then finished the whole thing by painting it with a similar dust.