Hello! Baking A Carved Cake For The 1St Time & Have ?'s

Decorating By DaDoughboy Updated 10 Jul 2011 , 9:45pm by DaDoughboy

DaDoughboy Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 9:05am
post #1 of 9

Just joined up and I have read a bit, but not too much since I joined as I am somewhat in a hurry and wanted to ask these questions asap.

My idea is to make a cake shaped like a whole 2 chambered shelled peanut for this girl who has a peanut allergy. She has an awesome sense of humor and would love the joke.

I have done other cakes as well as other desserts as well and I am quite good, but I have never done a carved cake before and never used fondant before.

Most cakes I make are too light and moist to carve and I completely screwed this pound cake I tried. Bubbled up in center. Read that can happen with too high an oven temp.

I went with the one directed from my recipe, but maybe baking it in a 9x13 square pan is where I went wrong, as I never saw directions for a pound cake in any other type of pan besides a loaf or bundt.
I haven't been happy with my buttercreams so far either, but maybe its just too hot in my kitchen to make them.

Her birthday is actually today, but she is out of town for it so I was gonna have it as a belated gift when she got back. I believe the soonest I may see her after she gets back is Monday, so I would like to have it done by then.
If not she will have to wait longer because I wont give her crap.

Here are a few questions I have for yall:

First I plan on making this wasc recipe here:
http://cakecentral.com/recipes/2322/white-almond-sour-cream-cake-wasc
Since everyone seems to talk about it and all my ideas for the right type of cake to carve thats still sweet and moist have failed, I'm putting my faith in trying this next.

1. Anyone have a favorite brand of boxed white cake? I never have made a boxed cake before, I always do them from scratch.