Question About Cupcake Tasting...

Baking By Osgirl Updated 8 Jul 2011 , 2:15pm by Osgirl

Osgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Osgirl Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 4:40am
post #1 of 4

I'm still pretty new to baking. What started out as "for fun" has turned into a small side business (very casual). Anyway, I'm doing a wedding in September. The mother of the groom is someone that I kind of know and she got my name from someone we both know.

I did tell her that I am NOT a professional, but that I really enjoy making cupcakes and have had very positive feedback.

Anyway, she left a message for me yesterday asking when we could get together for a taste testing session because she, her son, and his fiance want to taste test the cupcakes. Huh???

First of all, I never said anything about a taste testing. I understand they want to taste my cupcakes and pick out flavors, but that's an awful lot of work for someone who does this casually on the side. It's not like I can make 1-2 cupcakes of each flavor. I pretty much have to do a minimum of 6 per recipe and that's a lot!

What should I do? Should I tell her I don't do taste tests because I'm not a professional? Tell her I will do a taste test but they must pick out X number of flavors and I would charge her? Or should I say that I need to increase the original quoted price to include my time and ingredients for the "taste test"?

I'm not opposed to a taste test, but that's a lot of extra work and money for me, and this is just supposed to be a fun little thing for me!

Thanks!

3 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 5:03am
post #2 of 4

You may want to check into the licensing requirements for your area before you start selling. The venue may not accept food without a license and insurance.