Strawberry Margarity Luau Cake

Decorating By mandyloo Updated 6 Jul 2011 , 6:45pm by aggiechef

mandyloo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandyloo Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 6:10pm
post #1 of 3

My sister in law requested a cake off between my other sil and myself for her 40th birthday luau.
I have no high hopes on the decorating, I am a beginner and though I have cute ideas sometimes, my execution is lacking. I know it, and I'm learning.
My SIL (not the birthday girl) is a fabulous decorator (she made my wedding cake last month) and has about a decade on me, so I think my best bet is to go with a great and somewhat unusual flavor, so I was thinking margarita. I've made and loved macsmom's margartita cake before and though it doesn't seem very Luau-y, my sil thinks it would be great.

Enough blab, now for the questions:

Has anyone ever made a strawberry margarita cake? I was thinking of just adding diced strawberries to the cake batter, and a layer of sliced strawberries in the lime curd filling, and then just topping with tequila lime buttercream.

Too much? Or right on?

I'm going pretty simple on the deco- sand, tiki umbrellas..

I would love any ideas!
The cake is due Saturday.

Thanks! icon_smile.gif

2 replies
louanne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
louanne Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 3