Icing Questions

Decorating By hrnewbie Updated 8 Jul 2011 , 4:28pm by TexasSugar

hrnewbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hrnewbie Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 1:36am
post #1 of 11

Can someone please walk me through how various icings interact? I've read quite a few posts where things have fallen apart and I'm anxious to avoid that happening with my cakes. So, since Im really new to this whole decorating thing, I live by two rules:

1) If the cake is buttercream iced then it gets buttercream decorations. No fondant, gumpaste, or royal icing.

2) If you cover a cake in fondant, then decorations need to be in fondant, gumpaste, or royal. No buttercream.

I know thats not accurate becuase I see so many beautiful cakes with mixed media but Im not sure what goes with what.

Can you put royal icing or fondant or gumpaste on a buttercream cake? Can you use buttercream to decorate a fondant covered cake?

10 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 11

Yes you can put fondant or gumpaste on a buttercream cake. You can put royal icing on buttercream as well (Wilton has a whole course that teaches royal icing flowers that go on a buttercream basket weave cake in the end.

You can also use buttercream or royal icing on a fondant covered cake.

CalhounsCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CalhounsCakery Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 5:11pm
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasSugar

Yes you can put fondant or gumpaste on a buttercream cake. You can put royal icing on buttercream as well (Wilton has a whole course that teaches royal icing flowers that go on a buttercream basket weave cake in the end.

You can also use buttercream or royal icing on a fondant covered cake.

I know you already know this Texas Rose, but for the OP, Royal Icing has to be dry before interacting with buttercream.

TexasSugar Posted 6 Jul 2011 , 5:20pm
post #4 of 11