Super Newbie Needs Help Please? Not Sure What To Buy...

Decorating By MsInterpret Updated 6 Jul 2011 , 1:12am by scp1127

MsInterpret Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 12:17am
post #1 of 15

Hi all;

I am not new to baking but I am new to decorating. I want to make a rosette covered cake that have seen several variations of online. I am pretty confident I will be able to do it with some practice, but my confusion is regarding buying equipment.

All the online tutorials I've seen for these rosettes say you need a pastry bag and a Wilton 1M open star tip.

Seeing as how this is likely to be a one time cake for me to make, I don't see myself using any equipment much in the future so I don't want to spend a lot.

I found that the Wilton Cupcake Decorating 12 pc kit comes with this 1M tip, but I noticed it doesn't include any couplers... will I need to buy a coupler separate or will this kit do the job as-is? I have been reading reviews of it online and some people mention the coupler thing and others do no.

It's about $10. Should I just buy everything separately (bag / coupler / tip) to make this cake? I would really prefer to purchase what I need online as there are no nearby places for me to go and I am having car issues at the moment.

Here's a picture similar to the cake in question (from this site):

And yes, I will be making a large cake so I wondered about the kit having smaller bags...? I will be using cream cheese frosting (and quite a bit of it). I'll be making the cake for about 30 people.

Any input would be very much appreciated. Thanks so much!

14 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 12:23am
post #2 of 15

The 1M tip is large enough that you don't need a coupler.I just drop it down into my piping bag.You can buy the bags separately in different sizes.I suggest a 10 or 12 inch bag as the 8 is too small and doesn't hold large amounts of icing that you would need to do the larger cake.If you aren't going to ever use the kit then just buy a bag and tip.