Baby Shower/birthday Cake!

Decorating By Kaykaymay Updated 7 Jul 2011 , 5:29pm by ConfectionsCC

Kaykaymay Posted 4 Jul 2011 , 2:30am
post #1 of 9

Hi all, I have a request from a friend who want's me to do her baby shower cake. She told me she would like something special like a two tier cake. I knew her jaw would hit the floor if I told her what it would cost to make one so I asked her instead, how much she was willing to spend. Her answer was - $40-$50 (all of which will be spent on ingredients)(I am a hobby baker) I told her I would see what I can come up with and get back to her.

So I was thinking I can't do a two tier cake but I may be able to do something cute like a baby bag with gumpaste baby stuff coming out (I really want to try one of those anyway) but before I can tell her my idea, she comes back with "well my daughter's birthday is on that same day so we're doing a birthday party/ baby shower all in one and I was gonna buy a cake but I don't really want to spend any more money on cake so can you just put "happy birthday" in a corner on the one you're doing for me instead? *GROAN* NO! that just seems like something I would see on Cake Wrecks!

But I wanna rise to the challenge and make something work so I was thinking do you think I should do the baby bag plus a few cupcakes for the B/day girl or the baby bag and a very simple small cake like a 4" round just for her to blow out and stick? or can you think of something better? Please help any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

8 replies
vgray Posted 4 Jul 2011 , 3:02am
post #2 of 9