New Member With A Few Problems

Decorating By evans000 Updated 4 Jul 2011 , 6:11pm by evans000

evans000 Posted 3 Jul 2011 , 7:37am
post #1 of 7

Hello everybody, my name is Helen and this is my first time on this forum.

I would like to become a cake decorator and maybe in time have my own business. I am currently on an adult learning course which lasts 10 weeks, the next course starts in september again only another 10 weeks and i will gain a qualification but in my area where i live there are no other courses so i am going to have to learn the majority from the internet.

On my course we are learning the basics i.e covering a cake in fondant, piping with different nozzles, roses, a crib and a few other bits (the advanced course i'm not sure what we will be doing).

One of my questions is when i cut the cake in half and fill with jam & BC whn i place the fondant on and smooth the fondant has a kind of buldge around the middle, would you let the BC set overnight so the weight of the fondant doesnt squash teh cake down?

How long in advance would you make the cake to give it time to settle, i am doing a chocolate sponge with a chocolate granach filling?

Also when i baked a plain sponge i used a 3" high windsor tin i hired from a cake shop and at the top of the cake it shrunk inover a little so to level the sides i had to cut off nearly an inch turning my 8" cake to only a 7". What am i doing wrong?

I have so so many questions and really hope i can get some advice. I hope this post isnt too long and boring apologies in advance.

Helen xxx

6 replies
Caths_Cakes Posted 3 Jul 2011 , 8:07am
post #2 of 7

Hi helen icon_smile.gif Welcome to CC! im just up the road from you in sunny (Well, some of the time lol) sunderland!

Good luck with your course, Nothing better than learning and teaching your self new skills!