Crumbly Fondant. Help?

Decorating By michaud1985 Updated 1 Jul 2011 , 3:18pm by Texas_Rose

michaud1985 Posted 30 Jun 2011 , 3:31pm
post #1 of 7

Summers where I live are very humid, we use a/c but can't seem to get our fondant to hold up when we add a lot of gel color. We use a combination of shortening, powdered sugar, and corn starch to keep the fondant from being sticky but we get to a point of no return and it becomes a crumbly mess. How do we avoid this? Any ideas?

6 replies
katie1214 Posted 30 Jun 2011 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 7

I am by no means an expert, just passing on what I've learned here on this site so far icon_biggrin.gif You can put it in the microwave for about 10 seconds to soften it up. You can add a little light corn syrup to it and knead it in. You can roll it out on shortening instead of the cornstarch b/c too much might be making it dry. I've had good results by doing those 3 things - hope it helps you!

michaud1985 Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 2:22am
post #3 of 7

thanks! I had not thought of adding corn starch to fondant. I will give it a shot.

bobhope Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 11:29am
post #4 of 7

where i come from is very humid..i only roll my fondant on cornstarch coz i find rolling them on powdered sugar makes fondant dry so fast..hope you'll get around it ..good luck icon_smile.gif

LisaPeps Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 11:53am
post #5 of 7
Originally Posted by michaud1985

thanks! I had not thought of adding corn starch to fondant. I will give it a shot.

Don't add corn starch add corn syrup. Adding corn starch will make the crumbling worse!

michaud1985 Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 12:42pm
post #6 of 7

Thanks everyone. I only use enough corn starch to keep from sticking to the table, I'm sure my combination is enough to make it crumble. I will start using corn syrup.

Texas_Rose Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 3:18pm
post #7 of 7