Peacock Wedding Cake Q's

Decorating By Loloface Updated 19 Jul 2011 , 5:13am by Loloface

Loloface Posted 30 Jun 2011 , 7:08am
post #1 of 10

So I'm making a peacock wedding cake. I'm new to wedding cakes in general, but its for a friend and I really think I can make this look great, even with my lack of experience. I'm almost certain I'm going to use the Wilton Towering Tiers cake stand, since I'm not going to be at the event, and I would hate to have the cake fall apart/collapse/someone screw it up, and it seems stable and easy to assemble/take apart for cutting and serving.
4 tiers, all buttercream, (the bride wants minimal fondant work) with a peacock on the top tier, and the tail going down the side of the cake.
I think I'm going to mold the bird body out of rice krispy, and cover it with either fondant or modeling chocolate (does anyone have a suggestion, one or the other?) and make the tail feathers out of one or the other (or gumpaste?) based on a template I found online. Its going to be a little more time consuming, but its a slightly more realistic feather template then some of the photos Ive been seeing online, that are just tear drop shapes with circles in the center. I wish I could make like a cookie cutter or something for the feathers, so I don't have to cut out each individual feather with an exacto knife. (again, suggestions or tips to make this process easier? Its going to be a tall cake, and Im probably going to have to make a lot of them)

Since I'm not covering the cakes in fondant, I could bake them and freeze them right? Until I'm ready to use them? If so, how far in advance?
How far in advance can I frost them before they get nasty? (I'm trying to plan this out so I can take time off work if necessary)
As for the fondant/modeling chocolate work, how far in advance?

The wedding is in 1 month.

Thanks for your help icon_smile.gif

9 replies
idontknow Posted 1 Jul 2011 , 1:02am
post #2 of 10