Cake Photoshoot/party Layout For Local Business

Business By PrivateNameHere Updated 2 Jul 2011 , 8:17pm by alleykat1

PrivateNameHere Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PrivateNameHere Posted 29 Jun 2011 , 11:17am
post #1 of 13

Hi!
I make cakes for one of our local kids' play area/coffee shops. I do cakes for free membership and coffee. It works for me. Anyway. I've been doing it for about two years, but I only make maybe one cake every two months or so. I think the manager rotates me with another baker (which is fine by me!) They do birthday parties there. I have never seen a "theme" party there, but I know they do decorations and whatnot. I have done some Elmo, Sesame Street, Princess, Monkeys, Dora and Diego, that sort of thing. Just a spattering of themes.
I got an email from their new marketing manager who is planning a "fake" party so they can do a photoshoot. She has asked me to provide her with pictures of the cakes I've made for them (no problem) and then she can decide what cake she wants me to make for the shoot (I guess what theme hasn't been covered?) Well, through emailing she has made it obvious that if I don't have most of the themes she wants me to "send me pictures of examples that I would make for that theme". As in pictures of other people's cakes to put on their website and portfolio and pass off as my own. She hasn't said "pass off as your own" but it's definitely implied if they are going to put my name under "Cakes Provided By".
How do I tactfully tell her that I will in no way do this and ask her to not do this under my name?

12 replies
Brevity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brevity Posted 29 Jun 2011 , 11:50am
post #2 of 13

I would simply tell her that people have gotten into a fair amount of trouble over that sort of thing, & you just can't. If you're willing to jump thru the hoops for this business, you could always make a cake for the picture, that meets her wants/needs.