Contemplating Entering My First Competition

Decorating By KJF1985 Updated 31 Jul 2011 , 7:55pm by Elcee

KJF1985 Posted 28 Jun 2011 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 17

Yesterday I found out that there's a decorating competition in my town at the end of July. After looking up details, I'm seriously considering entering. It's broken down by years experience which makes me feel better. Registration is only $15 and there's demo's and such during the day. I don't live in a big town and I'm sure people will travel for this but I just can't imagine there being a ton of people in my division. It's all for fun but I also don't want to show up and have people wonder why i'm even there. I started the wilton classes at hobby lobby in October and completed all except the newest punch one so I'm quite new to this.

I think my biggest challenge will be to make sure things are finished well: lines and edges are clean, things are smooth, etc. But I know I can do it if I take my time. However, the thought of entering a "competition" is still a bit scary!! So, can anybody's who's "been there, done that" give some advice? Should I do it? Is there anything to keep in mind? Tips?

Huge thanks in advance!

16 replies
Texas_Rose Posted 28 Jun 2011 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 17

I think it sounds like fun and it's good that it's broken down into levels of experience too.

Are you allowed to use cake dummies or does it have to be real cake? If you can use dummies, then you can really take your time working on them.

One thing you should do is try covering the cake board in fondant and finishing the edge with a ribbon...it really adds to the look of any cake, and it's so easy to do.

KJF1985 Posted 28 Jun 2011 , 3:45pm
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas_Rose

I think it sounds like fun and it's good that it's broken down into levels of experience too.

Are you allowed to use cake dummies or does it have to be real cake? If you can use dummies, then you can really take your time working on them.