What Do You Think Of Offerin Extra Cake Scraps For 3D Cakes?

Decorating By Dreme Updated 29 Jun 2011 , 2:23am by KodiSnip

Dreme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dreme Posted 26 Jun 2011 , 9:18pm
post #1 of 16

I'm new to this so this is just an idea:

I charge for the full number of servings it takes me to use for a carved cake. I really don't like to waste cake, there is no body but my partner and me to eat it, so as a bonus I offer the client the option of packing up the extra unfinished full servings. I'm thinking the client will end up maybe thinking i gave them bonus or they will want a smaller cake. As a lot of these parties are for small guest counts I cant carve a cake but so small and still get the number of servings. I gotta start bigger.

For example (for those of you who have read, this cake was in another thread. My partner was out of town and helped me over the phone): I have a cake that is supposed to be a woman laying on her side. The client wanted to feed 50 guest. In order to get her to fit in my fridge and not make her too big (or too small) where she atomically wouldn't look right for the number of servings needed, we are starting from a block of cake that is 10"x18"x5". We got 90 servings from the block with about 50-54 servings after the carving. Based on my carving price of $5 per serving the cake came out to $450. I don't think I can carve her any smaller than 50 servings as it was hard already to get her to look right.

Do yo think it is fair to give them the extra cake that makes up an actual serving? We have no one else to give the cake to and we wont eat it.

I know what I want my base price to be ($5 per serving), but I got to thinking a little too much about what I want to do. Now i'm thinking maybe just charge for the actual servings. I dunno. What do you think?

15 replies
tokazodo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tokazodo Posted 26 Jun 2011 , 9:36pm
post #2 of 16